What is a Designation and Why Should You Care?

Sorry for the lack of blog posts in the last week, I have been working towards earning a designation called the GRI (Graduate Realtor Institute).  Have you ever wondered what those capital letters on a REALTOR’s business card mean?

Well each set of letters stands for a different designation.  Currently I hold a designation in home staging (AHS), short sales (CSP), and am working on a third – the GRI.  Jeanette holds a designation in short sales (SFR), green or eco-friendly homes (EcoBroker), and investments (CIAS).  Jeanette and I feel that our up to date knowledge is what sets us apart from other agents in the field.  It is our duty to be as knowledgeable as we can so we can help our clients achieve their real estate goals and dreams.

My recent class is the third installment of the Graduate Realtor Institute course.  If I pass the final exam I will earn the highly regarded designation.  Real estate agents only have to take 14 hours of continuing education every two years.  Jeanette and I believe that isn’t enough to truly be our best.  By attending GRI courses, I will have earned over 90 hours from this course in the last 2 years. Wish me luck on Thursday and click the link below to learn why you should hire a GRI!

Why Hire a GRI?

Update 8/3/11:  I passed the exam and am officially a GRI designee!

Tell me what you think

