Monday Market Report – Does the Perfect Home Exist?

In the world of real estate I see a lot of homes.    I also see a huge range in the types of homes for sale in Orlando because it is such a large spread out city.  We have very small bungalows in Downtown Orlando all the way to uber gigantic mansions in places like Windermere or Lake Mary.  Some homes are new construction, some are remodeled, and some have a vintage charm about them.  I personally love my house but it is far from perfect; I just work on it constantly to try to make it as perfect for my needs as I can.

In all of my searches and previewing, I have yet to find the perfect home.  There is always something that needs to be improved or changed to fit someone’s lifestyle.  In fact, even people who build new construction from scratch will always find something they wish they had done differently a few years down the road.  There is no such thing as a perfect house.

Yet often times I meet buyers who are looking for just that.  The expectations are not in line with reality.  The reality is you have to be willing to make compromises to be a homeowner.  Find the best house for you, your lifestyle, and your budget and then make it your own.

With all that being said, I offer a little advice for buyers –  Plan accordingly.  When you are being pre-approved for a home don’t just jump in and buy something that is at the top of your price range, because inevitably you will want to change something.  I heard a great quote the other day that I think adds to this advice – “you don’t want to be house rich and cash poor”.  We tend to want it all and buy something we think is move in ready and perfect; but there are always things you will want to change or improve to make it YOUR home so budget accordingly.

Do you think there is a Perfect House out there for you?  Or do you think you own the perfect house?

P.S.  The photo of the house is our new listing on Marks St. in Colonialtown North in Downtown Orlando.  It’s just such a cute house!

Tell me what you think

