Go Local Wednesdays – Oh That Hummus

photo (29)

I’ve lived in Downtown Orlando for 9 year now, how in the world have I never been to Dandelion Communitea Café?  Seriously.  And now that I’ve been I absolutely hate admitting that it took this long to go.  I want to be able to say that it has been a staple in my diet for all of these years and that I’ve tried every single thing on the menu but that is not the case.  I guess now I have something to look forward to…trying every single thing on the menu!

Located in the Mills50 District, this place is as local as it gets, sourcing locally, organic, fair trade, cruelty-free and eco-friendly products from like minded vendors as often as possible.  They live, breathe and love the local community.  They are involved, they give back, they care.  The café itself is one of the cutest little places you will ever go.  It’s fun, funky, laid back and just gives off a vibe of welcomeness.  It’s an adorable green 1920s bungalow that wasn’t gutted to fit a café’s normal needs, instead they kept the interior layout as is. So it still has the layout of a home with separate rooms and each room has multiple sets of tables and chairs.  They have a front porch with seating as well as an herb garden and edible landscape that they use in their dishes.   The menu is vegetarian, and vegan and celiac friendly, something you don’t find every day.  There are a ton of options, I went with the Polynesian Banana Fantasy over quinoa and spring mix with a side of Hummus.  Oh man, it was so good, I tried to think about one single component that I would change and there isn’t one.  It all fit so well together and that Curryous dressing was the best curry dressing I’ve ever had on a salad.  And that Hummus…oh that Hummus…I could have made a meal of it.  For drink I went with the iced tea of the day, Sunshine Daydreams, I wish I remembered exactly what it was made of! I think it was just equal parts sunshine and daydreams, maybe a splash of vanilla too.

So there you have it, Dandelion Communitea Café, its amazing.  Go see for yourself!  They have an awesome menu as well as a pretty packed events calendar with a lot of regularly scheduled events like art shows and live music.

Just another reason to LOVE WHERE YOU LIVE!

Tell me what you think

