Go Local Wednesdays – Local Culture

4398052_orig

Orlando is a melting pot of culture.  One of the largest Asian communities in Florida is right here in our very own Mills 50 District.  A variety of Vietnamese, Chinese and Japanese restaurants and shops line Colonial Avenue and Mills Avenue, some of the best Asian cuisine I’ve ever eaten is located right in my backyard!

You can learn a lot about culture through food but you can learn even more by getting out and spending the day at a cultural festival and parade. And that is why this year I’m going to spend the day celebrating the Lunar New Year at the Dragon Parade Lunar New Year Festival.  Did you know that the Lunar New Year is the most important festival celebrated in Asia?  2015 is the Year of the Goat (or Sheep, depending on who you ask), it is said that people born under this sign are the most creative, delicate, well mannered and quite charming…hmm, that sounds like me! Just kidding, I’m a Rooster, practical, observant, loyal…spot on, what are you?   Okay, back to the Dragon Parade, this year Asia Trend Magazine, Mills 50 Main Street District, REACH of Central Florida and Y.E.S.S. have come together to organize the parade.  It is expected to be so large that it was moved to The Fashion Square Mall!  The festival starts with a parade in the parking lot and is followed by 5 hours of cultural performances, food, arts and crafts, exhibitions and more.

Admission is free so there is no reason to miss this awesome event! I can not help but love where I live! Tell me, do you love where you live? 

Dragon Parade Lunar New Year Festival

Fashion Square Mall

February 22 @ 11am

About Kayla

I am the Executive Administrative Assistant for the ThinkLiveBe Property Team. Coming from a military family I've been lucky enough to live in every corner of America, I've been in Central Orlando for the last 4 years and have loved every minute of finally stabilizing my roots and having a community to call home! My background is Medical and Hospitality, so customer service is one of my strongest suits. I enjoy sharing ideas, shining light on local markets and creative things to do in Our City Beautiful!
This entry was posted in Go Local Wednesdays and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Tell me what you think

