Go Local Wednesday – Anthony’s Pizzeria & Italian Restaurant

anthonys

TripAdvisor.com just named Orlando fourth best city for pizza, thanks to two popular theme park pizzerias: Red Oven Pizza Bakery at Universal’s CityWalk and Via Napoli in the Italian Pavillion at Disney’s Epcot.  I definitely enjoy a good slice of pizza, every now and again (truth: more now than again).  My husband is more of a New York style lover, while just about anything with an abundant amount of cheese and sauce will make me happy.  That’s not to say that I don’t have a sophisticated pallet, rather I’m not afraid to branch out and try new things.  Odd toppings, crazy sauces and all types of crust send me into pizza amour!

I can’t think of a district in the Orlando region I haven’t had a slice in, but true to our local theme I’d like to present my downtown favorite.  Anthony’s Pizza of Thornton Park, is located at the corner of Summerlin and Washington.  Anthony’s Pizza has been in operation since 1998.  They truly do pizza right!  Anthony actually started his first pizzeria in New York City in 1976.  Now owned and operated by Anthony’s nephew, they have stayed true to their New York state of mind.  The ivy covered building offers indoor seating, or if you’re a people watcher, like me, find a place on the patio.  It’s a great location for a glass of wine and good conversation!

Anthony’s offers everything from the traditional New York pie to a unique Stuffed VIP (double crust with a side of marinara), and a plethora of toppings, you’re sure to find something you can fall in love with.  Feeling adventurous, try one of their speciality pies or calzones.  You can even make this a date friendly restaurant with their authentic Italian pasta entrees.  Whatever you decide, I can assure you, you won’t be disappointed.

Image Credit: ThorntonParkDistrict.com

Tell me what you think

