Go Local Wednesday – Orlando Museum of Art: Women of Vision Exhibit

WomenOfVision

I am an art lover!  My parents instilled in my siblings and I that the arts are important.  Each of us participated and excelled in different outlets of art.  My outlet was music, piano and singing, my sister paints the most amazing “Pop Art” pieces, and my brother plays the trumpet.  Each has a special meaning and is personal to us, individually, as art does to so many.

Another form of art that I admire is photography.  My parents always had National Geographic magazines in our home as children.  .  Sometimes not understanding the context of words in the stories but truly being transported through the lens of the photographers.  I can remember flipping through the pictures and truly escaping to some of the most riveting places in the world.

The Women of Vision: National Geographic Photographers on Assignment exhibit, on display at the Orlando Museum of Art, highlights the stories that 11 very talented female photographers tell while on assignment around the world.  Their vivid photos and multimedia offer you an escape to some of the most amazing locations and into the lives of some fascinating people, you might not normally get to see.  As described on the OMA website, “from the savannahs of Botswana to the war torn streets of Libya and Afghanistan; the beaches of the Jersey Shore to the Mongolian steppe or the rainforests of New Guinea. Their stories explore modern realities and what it means to be human in the 21st Century.”

I hope you’ll take the time to explore this intriguing exhibit.  This would be a great one to take the kids to.  Start a conversation, or just revel in the gripping stories presented in breathtaking photography.

For more information on this exhibit, click here.

Image Credit: WOVExhibit.com

Tell me what you think

